Becca

You are here

My name is Becca and I am 24 years old. I was diagnosed with VCFS/22Q at age 2. My parents noticed that I was walking late and I needed speech therapy as a kid. Social aspects of life in school were always difficult for me. I have a non verbal learning disability along with VCFS. With that, I never really understood social cues.  Anxiety has been the biggest challenge for me.  Not every day, but almost every day I deal with anxiety.  I try to look on the bright side and with practice and learning my coping skills it has helped me a lot.  Now that I'm an adult, I have joined a social group for adults with disabilities and have made a great group of friends. I'm also a graduate of a Vocational Rehab program that helps adults with disabilities learn to work at and find jobs. That's how I got my job, which I've been at for 3 years. My biggest accomplishment has been probably getting through school and being at my job for 3 years now.  I never thought I would be at a job I liked.  At my work, they understand me and help me.  Having my own job to support myself has made me feel like I have really accomplished something.  For the program I am also an Ambassador. I spoke in front of 400 people, including our Governor, at a Gala a few months ago. I love advocating for myself and for others if needed. I would like more opportunities to meet people near me.  Having VCFS/22Q has made me feel special. I hope someday to become an inspiration to others who have 22Q. 

 

 

Latest News

Spread the Word